Contact UsContact Us

School Manager Teacher Modified Class Email

This article is for IT support and Classwize Classroom administrators using School Manager to automatically sync student enrollment from your third-party system into Classwize.

If you have enabled Classwize’s Modify Students feature, teachers can add or remove students from their Classwize classes, ensuring that Classwize reflects who is actually present in their class. While teachers may add or remove students from a class to manage their own local classes or account for temporary absences or attendees, it can also reflect a discrepancy you need to correct between your source of truth for student data and actual student enrollments. 

The "Linewize - Teacher Modified Class" email is a list of the students a teacher has added or removed from a Classwize classroom. You can use this to investigate the teacher’s changes and, if needed, update your source of truth to reflect actual class enrollments. If there is a mismatch and you don’t update your source of truth, your teacher’s changes will be overwritten the next time it syncs with School Manager.

Warning

Teachers may inadvertently undo modifications to their Google Classrooms if both Modify Students in Class and Allow teachers to sync with Google Classrooms are turned on. Contact Linewize Support if you have questions about your Google Classroom options.

The “Linewize - Teacher Modified Class” email is sent from noreply@linewize.com within 15 minutes of the changes. The email contains three brief sections:

  1. Classroom details

  2. Added student IDs

  3. Removed student IDs

The added and removed student IDs will match the format of the third-party system you use to manage enrollment. Your users’ data may look slightly different depending on the format of your SIS (Student Information System).

Investigate the reason for the changes and, if needed, follow your school’s process for approving the enrollment changes. 

  • If the changes are only for the day, no further action is required and the previous day’s classroom enrollment will be restored during the nightly sync. 

  • If the changes should be permanent, open the classroom enrollment section of your tool and update the student IDs to match your teacher’s changes.