Contact UsContact Us

Adding Permanent Associations

This article is for IT support.

A Permanent Association links a device with a user's authenticated identity or account. If your school has enabled Captive Portal, a Permanent Association allows the user to connect to your network on that device by logging in only once.  A user can be permanently associated across multiple devices with the same account. 

Adding Permanent Associations in School Manager

There are different ways that you can add Permanent Associations:

  • Via User Configuration

  • Via Real Time Statistics

  • Via Captive Portal

Adding Permanent Association from User Configuration 

  1. Go to CONFIGURATIONS > USERS AND GROUPS > ASSOCIATIONS.

  2. Add or import associations.

    1. To add a single association:

      • Select ADD. The Add User dialog will appear.

      • Select the User.

      • Enter the user’s MAC or IP address.

      • Select ADD.

    2. To add multiple associations:

      • Select IMPORT CSV.

      • Select the CSV file containing the association data from your folder.

      • Select IMPORT.

Creating a Permanent Association CSV File

In your CSV file, include the username in the first column and their device’s MAC address in the second column. 

Examples:

Microsoft Excel

Google Sheets

Another option is to add the username and MAC address in a CSV text file. The username and MAC address must be separated by comma.

Notepad

Adding Permanent Association from Realtime Statistics

  1. Go to STATISTICS < REALTIME > USERS AND HOSTS.

  2. If the user is authenticated on the network, their username will appear on the screen.

  3. Check the user’s permanent association status on the Saved column:

  • Yes if the user is permanently associated with their device.
  • No if the user is not permanently associated with their device. 
  1. Select (save) next to permanently associate the user to their device.

Adding Permanent Associations via Captive Portal 

See Enabling Permanent Associations for more information.


Purging Associations

You can stop associating a device to a user by purging associations. The Purge Associations feature is especially useful when a school-managed device is given to a new student at the start of the new term or to a new staff member. You can purge one, all or only ‘stale’ associations.

Purging All or Stale Associations

To purge all or stale associations:

  1. Go to CONFIGURATIONS > USERS AND GROUPS > ASSOCIATIONS.

  2. Select PURGE ASSOCIATIONS.

  3. On the Purge Associations dialog:

    1. Select PURGE STALE ASSOCIATIONS to delete associations for users who are no longer active, such as those who have left the school or no longer use their associated devices, or users who have been deleted from School Manager.

    2. Select PURGE ALL ASSOCIATIONS to delete all associations between users and devices.

Purging individual associations

To purge individual associations between users:

  1. Go to CONFIGURATIONS > USERS AND GROUPS > ASSOCIATIONS.

  2. Use Search to locate your user

  3. Select the Delete icon (trash can) under Operations.

purging individual associations


Associations Exceptions

Creating Associations Exceptions

Use Associations Exceptions to stop certain devices from creating Permanent Associations. You can create Associations Exceptions for any device, but it’s particularly useful for shared devices, such as classroom or library computers and  handheld devices. 

  1. Go to CONFIGURATIONS > USERS AND GROUPS > ASSOCIATIONS EXCEPTIONS.

  2. Select ADD.

  3. Enter the device’s MAC address.

  4. Select ADD.

Tips:

  • If an exception is created for a device, the “Continue and Save My Device” prompt will not appear for the user when they log in to Captive Portal.
  • You cannot save the device in Statistics > Realtime > Users and Hosts. A prompt will appear to inform you that the user will not be saved. 

Removing Associations Exceptions

To remove Associations Exceptions:

  1. Go to CONFIGURATIONS > USERS AND GROUPS > ASSOCIATIONS.

  2. Locate the device or use Search.

  3. Select the Delete icon (trash can) for the device under Operations.